The Toxic Friend

Lately I’ve been having some problems with a friend of mine who has been “too busy” to hang out and constantly coming up with lies and excuses for not updating me on her life. She only comes around and initiates when it’s convenient timing for her or she needs something from me.

For a while I’ve been caught in this cycle of wondering whether I should continue to put in effort or just cut off the friendship. At this point, it was more draining than anything trying to be her friend.

I completely understand life getting busy and it becomes hard to make time to catch up with your friends but at the same time, you can’t expect them to put their life on pause and wait around for you to be free. At some point, you have to decide whether someone is worth waiting around for.

One of my buddies gave me the best advice I had heard in a while.

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 8.30.42 PM

And he was right. I was taking time and effort out of my day to keep in contact with her when she would just continually reject me. At the end of the day, I was left feeling hurt and questioning what was so wrong with me that I wasn’t worthy of company.

There is nothing wrong with me. The only thing I did wrong was not being more selective of the company that I keep. I was surrounding myself with a friendship that made me feel friendless. It’s never fun to cut off anyone but sometimes you have to put yourself first.

 

Leave a Reply

